Roscommon Towns and Villages Sewerage Scheme Contract


EPS has recently signed the contract for the Roscommon Towns and Villages Sewerage Scheme (DBO Contract No 9) at the offices of Roscommon County Council.

This contract will provide for wastewater treatment facilities to serve the villages (13 No) of Arigna, Ballinlough, Ballyleague, Cootehall, Creagh, Elphin, Frenchpark, Hodson Bay, Knockcroghery, Liscaul, Loughglynn, Strokestown and Tulsk under a single DBO contract.

The wastewater treatment plants vary in size from 400 PE to 3,200 PE with differing levels of treatment to satisfy the assimilative capacity requirements of the receiving waters.

The project consists of 3 new plants on Greenfield sites at Arigna, Creagh and Hodson Bay and 7 new plants or extension to existing plants on existing sites at Ballinlough, Ballyleague, Elphin, French Park, Knockcroghery, Loughglynn and Strokestown.

For the Cootehall, Liscaul and Tulsk sites (which EPS built circa 2007), EPS will take over the operations of these plants no later than 3 months after contract signing. EPS will provide interim operations at all of the sites with existing WwTP from the date of commencement of construction on the site.

The project is procured using the FIDIC Conditions of Contract. The contract is a design, build and operate form of contract with a design build period of 2 years and an operate and maintenance period of 20 years (total contract period of 22 years).